Always Books

Percy Shelley - Hellas (1822)

"Worlds on worlds are rolling ever From creation to decay, Like the bubbles on a river Sparkling, bursting, borne away." - Percy Bysshe Shelley (from Hellas, 1822)

Percy Shelley was a non-violent vegetarian...

Good man!

I found this stanza quoted by Bertrand Russell in his History of Western Philosophy (1945) and it just struck a chord with me, so I had to share it... What do you think of this quote, or do you have any particular quotes from a favourite author or philosopher which have created a lasting impression with you? Tell us about it in the comments!

I'm really enjoying Russell's conspectus of philosophy too. It may just be my opinion but I feel that philosophy has a much greater role to play in education then it currently does. The knowledge, and the daring, of the ancients is definitely worth learning about...

This quote in particular is a summarised version of the view which was the atomic cosmology of Democritus.

← Home